association of patent and trademark attorneys

Association of Patent and Trademark Attorneys' homepage about APTMA members Intellectual Property News and Careers FAQs

  members' login members' login  
  Controllers of Association of Patent and Trademark Attorneys' History


THE CONTROLLER OF PATENTS, DESIGNS AND TRADE MARKS (originally called the Controller of Industrial and Commercial Property).

Irish Patents Office Logo

Since the foundation of the Irish Patents Office in 1927, only 7 people have held the position of Controller on a permanent basis. They are:


Aodh O’Brolchain 1927-1928

Edward Cleary

Edward A. Cleary 1928-1955

John Lennon

John J. Lennon 1955-1967

Michael Quinn

Michael J. Quinn 1967-1983

Sean Fitzpatrick

Sean Fitzpatrick 1983-2006

Eamonn Laird

Eamonn Laird 2007-2012


Gerard Barrett 2013 -


Public Home Page   |   About APTMA   Members   |   Intellectual Property   |   News and Events   |   FAQs

Terms and Conditions
  |   Crunch Media 2018